Local youths honored for outstanding volunteer serviceFree Access

(Telegram Photo by Pete Wilson)

Twelve Jackson County students were rewarded for their commitment to volunteer community service in a program conducted Friday afternoon, May 19 at the Ohio Valley Bank meeting room in Jackson. The Presidential Service Award recipients were introduced and presented with their medals by Jackson resident Susan Rogers who has conducted this special awards program in Jackson County in recent years. Recipients earn the honor by accumulating a certain minimum number of volunteer hours of service through organized activities or on their own. Ohio Valley Bank and Assistant Vice President Joe Wyant were willing to host the event to make it more of a special occasion for the recipients. Rogers described this group of honorees as being “amazing young people who go above and beyond, give from their hearts and donate their time and energy to make things better for others.” Wyant congratulated the honorees and urged them to continue their volunteer service into their adult years. Seated (from the left) are Olivia Moore, McKinley Morris, Kaydee Brown, Makayla Wyant, Deonna Huston and Makenzie Collins. Standing (from the left) are Logan Remy, Jenna Lewis, Jennifer Meldick, Madelyn Fannin, Rebecca Shaw and Nevaeh Hightower.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *