www.theTelegramNews.com  | Jackson and Vinton Counties Home Page  | Jackson OH, Wellston OH, Oak Hill OH, McArthur OH, Coalton OH, Hamden OH, Wilkesville OH, Zaleski OH
Local News
Community News
Vinton County
Family Features
Classified Ads
Public Notices/Legal Ads
Electronic Newsletter
RSS Feeds
Event Calendar
Send us a News Story
Links Directory
Church Directory
Telegram Staff
About The Telegram
About Our Website
Newspaper Awards
Advertise with Us
Subscribe Online


home : local news : local news August 21, 2017

8/11/2017 2:30:00 PM
Candidates, levies lining up for Jackson County election

The ballot for the Nov. 7 general election in Jackson County is taking definite shape and form as non-partisan candidates and tax issues were due to be filed by a deadline of Wednesday, Aug. 9 at the Jackson County Elections Office.

The Jackson County Elections Board will meet Wednesday, Aug. 16 to review the petitions for certification purposes. There are some openings for some positions, but write-in petitions can be filed by a deadline of 4 p.m. Monday, Aug. 28.

The candidates who have filed petitions for the Nov. 7 general elections in Jackson County are as follows:


Treasurer: John T. Evans (R).

President of Council: Eric G. Brown.

Council-at-Large: Thomas Aldrich, Loretta Jones, George Kitchen, Jon L. Ondera, John Peters and Sidney Smith.

Ward 1 Council: Jon Hensler.

Ward 2 Council: Greg Hollback and Ron Queen.

Ward 3 Council: Jeff Elliott and Megan Peters.

Ward 4 Council: Brett Foster.


Treasurer: Peg Barber.

President of Council: Chris J. Brenner.

Council-at-Large: Roaby Browning, Tom Clark and Charles D. Hudson.

Ward 1 Council: D. Keith Woolum.

Ward 2 Council: Nick Rupert II.

Ward 3 Council: No candidates filed.

Ward 4 Council: No candidates filed.


Coalton: No candidates filed.

Oak Hill, Council: Brandon Barry, James G. Coleman, JoAnne Davis, Jody Fulk, John Love and Terry McCain.


Jackson School Board: Kim Harless and Alyce Smith.

Oak Hill School Board: Joe Elcess, Michael French, Jr. and Paula Stewart.

Wellston School Board: Gretchen Crabtree, Terry Gill, James Johnston, and Jennifer Ousley Pittman.

Holzer Medical Center


Bloomfield: Roy L. Arthur and Tim Jones.

Coal: Larry W. Brisker, Bob Davis and Shane Smith.

Franklin: Greg Farrar and Jack Webb.

Hamilton: Dale Cox, Harold Meldick, Jr. and Delmar Reed.

Jackson: Jackie Daniels, Fred Powell, Richard Scurlock and Bill Snow.

Jefferson: Mike Blackburn, Brett Shipman and Dwight Woods.

Liberty: Kevin Meredith and Bill Rafferty.

Lick: Shawn Sexton, Jon Stevison and Steve Willis.

Madison: Leroy Dunaway, Dennis Evans, Scott Lunsford and Greg Potter.

Milton: James Hollingshead, Phillip Thompson.

Scioto: Charles Durham and James S. Leonard.

Washington: Davey Adkins, Jeff Bates, Tom Jolly and Arron Waugh.

Tax issues and local options which were filed to be on the general election ballot in Jackson County are as follows:


Countywide: Replacement, EMS, 1 mill, providing EMS/ambulance services.

Countywide: Replacement, Rio Grande Community College, 1 mill, operating expenses.

Countywide: Additional, Children's Services, 1.5 mills, supporting children's services & placement of children.

Countywide: Renewal, County Board of Aging, 0.5 mill, senior citizens services.

Wellston: Additional, Wellston Police Department, 1.5 mills, provides salaries, communication & administration.

Wellston: Renewal, Wellston Fire Department, 1 mill, operating & maintaining fire department.

Coalton: Renewal, Village of Coalton, 5 mills, current expenses.

Coalton: Renewal, Village of Coalton, 2 mills, street lighting.

Coalton: Replacement, Liberty Township, 1.5 mills, fire protection.

Coalton: Replacement, Scioto Township, 1 mill, operating & maintaining cemeteries.


Liberty 1: Liberty General Store, sale of beer.

Liberty 1: Liberty General Store, sale of beer on Sundays.

Reader Comments

Posted: Friday, August 18, 2017
Article comment by: Jim Milliken

Coalton only has two renewal levies on the ballot. This article if not read in-depth gives the impression that there are four levies on the ballot.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments about this story for possible publication online and/or in our print edition.

Article comments are not immediately posted to theTelegramNews.com.

Each submission must be approved by our Editor, who reserves the right to remove inappropriate language or content. There may be a delay of up to 72 hours for any submission while the Editor reviews and approves your comments.

Note: All information on this form is required.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    

The Telegram | www.theTelegramNews.com | WKOV-FM 96.7 | WCJO-FM 97.7 | WYRO-FM 98.7 | WYPC-AM 1330

THE TELEGRAM | PO Box 667 Jackson OH 45640 | phone 740.286.3023 | fax 740.286.6679

Privacy Notice | Web Site Visitor Policy

Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved